Site Home

18xx Games
18xx Rules Difference List

Click for 18xx Home
You are in: Home > 18xx > 18xx Rules Difference List > Section 5

Red line

| Introduction | Contents | Games | Glossary | Previous page Next page |

5.2 - Can you lay two tiles in a turn?

1761 A second tile may be laid on payment of a fee of 10. Once the first 4 train has been purchased, a third tile may be laid for a further payment of 10.
1800, 1824, 1824 v2, 1829, 1830Lummerland, 1837, 1844, 1849, 1854, 1876 v2, 1876-30, 1876-30 v2, 1876-35, 1876-35 v2, 1879, 1893, 18EZ All Levels, 18NL, 18Scan, 18SY-G, 18VA No.
1812, 1817, 1861, 1867, 18USA Yes, on payment of a fee a second tile operation may be performed, but only one of the two tile operations may be an upgrade. You may not lay a tile and upgrade it in the same turn.
1822, 1822CA From phase 3 onwards, a major company may lay two yellow tiles or upgrade one tile.
1825 Yes, if neither is an upgrade and they are not adjacent.
1826 Yes, if neither is a upgrade and it is the company's first turn.
1827 Jr. For mid-west companies if both tiles are west of starting hex.
1829 Mainline You may lay any number of yellow tiles as long as the track laid is continuous. This continuous route can be traced through pre-printed track in a brown board hex. Track laying must finish if a connection is made to an existing city. It must also finish if a tile of types 3, 6, 7 or 115 is laid. If the Midland, NER or NBR need to lay a tile on their home hex when they frst operate, this lay is in addition to any other tile laying activities for that round.
1830, 1830NL, 1856, 1857, 1859, 1869 USA West, 1889, 1891, 1899, 18AL, 18Chesapeake, 18EC, 18GA, 18GA v2, 18IN, 18Kaas, 18Rhl Rhineland Only by using the special property of a private.
1830 Cardgame, Railroad Barons Not applicable.
1830BC Yes, and more, depending on quality of digging team.
1831 Yes. Four-fold by a company, seven-fold by a system.
1832 Yes, if both are yellow. Systems may lay three yellow tiles or lay one yellow tile and upgrade another.
1834 No, but using the special property of the Burbach Foundry private, an additional upgrade to a Luxembourg city may be carried out.
1835
, 1838 Rheinland Only by major companies before first 3 train sold.
1837SX Yes, if there are sufficient building points and the build does not include the initial lay of a viaduct tile.
1841 Majors may do one tile lay or upgrade from each station-marker until a 3 train, then one from each up to a limit of 2 until a 5 train. But never more than one tile change on same hex.
1842 Yes, but only on a share company's first OR, and not both of the same hex.
1846, 18Neb Yes, each round a company may lay two yellow tiles or lay one yellow tile and upgrade one tile.
1847 Yes, during the Yellow phase only.
1847AE Yes, throughout the Yellow phase, or if it is the company's first operating round.
1848, 1851, 1862 Yes, once a 3 train has been sold. Two yellow tiles only.
1850, 18BL, 18CZ Yes, if both are yellow and it is the company's first turn.
1853 First four companies only. Each lay must be connected to a different station marker and the connecting routes must not use the same piece of track at any point.
1853 v2 First four companies only, and possible company 5 if it forms as a major company during the contract bidding stage. Each lay must be connected to a different station marker and the connecting routes must not use the same piece of track at any point. When they first operate, each of these companies must choose to either delay the ability to lay two tiles until Phase 3, or to gain the ability immediately. If the ability is gained immediately, the company must pay the bank every time that two tiles are laid. Company 1 must pay 50 to lay two tiles, companies 2 to 5 must pay 20 to lay two tiles.
1858 Yes, for a fee of 20 (only 10 if all new track on one tile is narrow gauge). Both can be upgrades, but they must be in different hexes.
1860 Yes, if both are yellow and neither contains a large station.
1862EA, 1862EA v2 Yes, if both are yellow and neither are N tiles.
1865 Sardinia Yes, on payment of a fee a second tile operation may be performed.
1868 Yes, a company may place or upgrade two track tiles at a cost of 10.
1869 The Golden Spike
Yes. Companies may lay a number of tiles based on tile points. Each company has 3 tile points available. Most tile actions cost 1 point, but laying a yellow tile in a mountain hex or upgrading a city to russet or grey costs 2 points.
1870 Yes, if both are yellow. Purchase of the MRBC by the MP or SSW can allow a third tile to be laid.
1873 Concession routes are always built in one step, which can involve up to 5 tiles. For normal track lays and upgrades, two tiles can be placed if each tile is either yellow or a green tile with two completely separate sections of track.
1880 Yes, once a 3 train has been sold, if both are yellow. The BCR may lay two yellow tiles from the start of the game. However, Foreign Investors only ever lay one tile in a turn.
1881 Yes, tramway companies can place two yellow tiles in the Yellow phase.
1883 Normally, no, but exceptions exist for the FSF and CCFR companies.
1895 Yes, once an 8H train has been sold. Two yellow tiles only.
1898 Majors may do one tile lay or upgrade from each station marker until a 3 train, then one from each up to a limit of 2 until end of turn. But never more than one tile change on same hex. Minors may do one tile lay or upgrade until a 4 train, then one from each station marker until end of game.
18??, 18FL, 18MW, 18PA Yes, if both are yellow.
18Africa Up to four yellow track tiles as long as the track is continuous, or for the first turn of companies starting on double-city hexes, one green then three yellows. This continuous route can be traced through pre-printed track in a brown board hex. Track laying must finish if a connection is made to an existing city. It must also finish if a tile of types 3, 6, 7 or 115 is laid.
18Ardennes Yes, for public companies only. They may lay two yellow tiles or upgrade one tile.
18C2C Yes. Tiles are laid on a points basis. It is possible to lay up to four yellow tiles in one turn.
18CLE Yes. Companies may lay two yellow tiles during phase 2.
18Dixie Major companies normally lay up to two tiles each operating turn. All companies may lay one extra yellow tile on their first operating turn.
18EU Yes, for a minor company in its first OR.
18GB Yes, but at most one may be in a city. Both may be upgrades.
18GL Yes, for any company other than CONRAIL in its first OR.
18GM Yes. Two yellow tiles may be laid in clear terrain, two non-city track tiles may be upgraded to green or russet, or one each of these actions.
18Ireland Yes, on payment of a fee a second tile may be laid.
18JP-T Only by using the special property of a private or a major company.
18Lilliput Yes, by using the appropriate Action Card.
18Mex Yes, for major companies only.
18MS, 18NW Yes, a second yellow tile in its first OR.
18NK Companies that have not completed a destination run may lay or upgrade three tiles. One may be an upgrade, but not of a yellow tile laid in the same turn. Once the destination run has been completed, they may only lay or upgrade one tile.
18NY Yes, either two tile lays or one tile lay and one upgrade, subject to sufficient funds being available.
18NYC All Lines may lay two yellow tiles in each operating round. In addition all Lines except the NYCTA may lay a third yellow tile in their first operating turn.
18OE Yes. Companies may lay a number of tiles based on available tile points. Different company types have different tile points available, and different tile types/actions cost different numbers of points.
18Ruhr Yes, either two yellow tiles or one yellow tile and one upgrade. You may not lay a tile and upgrade it in the same turn.
18SA No, except for companies that start operating in the Brown phase. These companies may lay/upgrade two tiles in their first operating turn.
18SS Yes, you may lay two tiles, lay one tile and upgrade another, or upgrade two tiles. You may not upgrade the tile just laid or upgraded with your second tile action.
18SY-O You may lay or upgrade one tile from each token a company has on the map. The same hex may be upgraded multiple times if the company has multiple tokens connected to that hex.
18TN Yes, if both are yellow. Ownership of private companies can allow additional tiles to be laid.
18US Yes, for Systems. Land Grant companies can lay up to three yellow tiles or lay two yellow tiles and upgrade one yellow tile to green if it can pay any required costs from its treasury.
18West Yes, for public companies. Land Grant companies can lay or upgrade up to three tiles (four tiles, up to two from each of its railheads, under the v2.3 retuned rules).
2038 Yes, multiple exploration allowed.
Crisis No, except that a green tile must be laid alongside a yellow one if available.
Poseidon, Rolling Stock There are no tiles in the game.
Steam Over Holland Yes, each round a company may lay two yellow tiles or lay one yellow tile and upgrade one tile, which can be the tile just laid.

| Introduction | Contents | Games | Glossary | Previous page Next page |

Red line

Mail me Keith Thomasson November 15th 2020